5 Fun Ways I Make Money from My Sketchnotes and Doodles

making money from your drawings

Andy McNally
3 min readJul 14, 2022

Here are five ways that I have made money from sketchnotes(visual notes) and doodles. Most of these ideas have little or no cost to get started and are great ways to create passive income streams.

  1. Print-on-Demand

When I’m doodling or taking notes, I will get excited about one of the creations and realize that it might work well on a product. This is where print-on-demand sites can help you turn your doodle into a t-shirt, mug, or many other products.

Print-on-demand sites like Threadless, Redbubble, and Tee Public are easy and usually free ways to get your work on a product.

I made a product design from a yogi that I drew in my Apple WWDC 2021 Keynote visual notes.

available on Threadless
visual note with key points and illustrations from Apple’s WWDC 2021 Keynote
original visual note from the Apple WWDC 2021 Keynote

2. Sell Prints or Originals

People may want to buy a copy of your doodle or visual note.

--

--

Andy McNally

Freelance Illustrator, Writer, & Cartoonist. Writing and drawing about technology, pop culture, sketchnotes, creative tech, and making a living as a creative.